Skip to content
YakjaYakja

Best Password Managers 2026: Bitwarden vs 1Password vs Proton Pass vs NordPass vs Dashlane vs Keeper vs RoboForm vs Apple Passwords

Eight password managers, one head-to-head. We pit Bitwarden's unlimited free tier against 1Password's Secret Key, Proton Pass's free email aliases, NordPass's two-year pricing, Dashlane's premium ask, Keeper's compliance stack, RoboForm's $0.99 deal and Apple's free built-in option — and name the right pick for each type of user.

ProductRatingHeadline paid priceFree planEncryptionStandout differentiator
Bitwarden (free + Premium, open-source)4.5$19.80/year Premium; Families $47.88/year (6 users)Unlimited passwords, passkeys and devices with cloud syncNot specified in summarySource published on GitHub; genuinely unlimited free tier
1Password4.5$36/yearNone — 14-day trial onlyAES-256-GCM, zero-knowledge128-bit Secret Key that never leaves the device
Proton Pass4.5$4.99/month, $35.88/yearYes — unlimited logins plus hide-my-email aliases256-bit AES-GCM; bcrypt, Argon2, hardened SRPEmail aliases on the free plan; open source (GPLv3)
NordPass4.2$35.76 for two years (from $1.49/mo on 2-year plan)Yes — one active deviceXChaCha20, zero-knowledgeCure53 audit refreshed Q4 2025; native passkey vault
Dashlane3.5Quoted $2.50–$5.42/month depending on source25 passwords / one device / 14-day trial (varies by source)256-bit AES with Argon2Bundled extras and AI security assistant framing
Keeper4.0No published price for reviewed capability; KeeperPAM quote-onlyNot covered in summaryZero-knowledge (title/type/URL decrypted locally)SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001/27017/27018, FedRAMP, HIPAA, PCI DSS, FIPS 140-3
RoboForm4.5From $0.99/month (promotional)Yes — one signed-in device at a time256-bit AES, zero-knowledge, third-party auditedBest-in-class form filling beyond logins
Apple Passwords4.0$0 per user per monthIncluded with any Apple AccountNot specified in summaryZero-config, OS-level autofill across Apple devices

Price: RoboForm and Bitwarden undercut everyone with a paid tier

On raw sticker price the ranking is unambiguous. Apple Passwords is free outright at $0 per user per month, with no subscription and no upsell tier at all — nothing else here can match that. Among paid products, RoboForm's promotional $0.99/month personal plan is the cheapest entry point, followed by Bitwarden Premium at $19.80/year. Everything else clusters materially higher: NordPass at $35.76 for two years, Proton Pass at $35.88/year, and 1Password at $36/year with no free plan to fall back on.

Bitwarden's advantage is narrower than it used to be — Premium nearly doubled from $10 to $19.80/year in January 2026 — but it still comfortably undercuts 1Password. Dashlane is the outlier in a bad way: its pricing consistently runs higher than both 1Password and Bitwarden, and quotes range from $2.50 to $5.42/month depending on the source, which makes it the hardest product in this group to value with confidence. Keeper is harder still, with no published price for the reviewed compliance capability and KeeperPAM sold on quote only. If you want to know what you're paying before you commit, Bitwarden, 1Password, Proton Pass and RoboForm all publish clear numbers; Keeper and Dashlane do not.

One caveat that separates NordPass from the rest of the value picks: its prices rise after the introductory term, so $35.76 for two years is an opening offer rather than the long-term cost. Bitwarden's $19.80/year and 1Password's $36/year are stated annual figures.

Free tiers: Bitwarden wins outright, Proton Pass wins on features

Free plans are where this group splits hardest. Bitwarden is the clear overall winner: unlimited passwords, unlimited passkeys, unlimited devices with cloud sync, a generator, autofill and Bitwarden Send, with no ads and no expiry. Nothing else offers that combination.

Proton Pass is the most interesting runner-up because it gives away something Bitwarden's free tier doesn't advertise: hide-my-email aliases, unpaywalled, working with your existing inbox. That's a privacy feature none of the other free plans here include. The catch is that Proton Pass paywalls two things you'd reasonably expect for free — offline access and the built-in 2FA authenticator — which is a gap Bitwarden's free tier doesn't impose.

NordPass and RoboForm both restrict free users to a single device, which puts them well behind Bitwarden and Proton Pass for anyone with a phone and a laptop. Dashlane's free plan is the weakest of the lot and the least clearly defined, described variously as 25 passwords, one device, or a 14-day trial — effectively impractical for long-term use. 1Password has no free plan at all: a 14-day trial and then $36/year. Apple Passwords sidesteps the whole question by being free forever, but only if every device you own is an Apple one.

Security architecture: 1Password's Secret Key vs NordPass's XChaCha20 vs the open-source pair

All of these products are credible on encryption, but they differentiate in how they're built and who has checked the work.

1Password takes the strongest threat-model position. Its 128-bit Secret Key adds entropy independent of the master password and never leaves the device, meaning a server-side breach of encrypted data would be unusable to an attacker — a genuinely stronger design than the AES-256 zero-knowledge baselines offered by Dashlane, RoboForm and Proton Pass. The cost of that design is brutal and should not be glossed over: there is no recovery backdoor. Lose the Secret Key with no enrolled devices and the vault is gone permanently. Bitwarden, Proton Pass and the rest don't ask you to carry that specific risk.

NordPass is the only product here using XChaCha20 rather than AES, and it has the freshest external validation on offer — a Cure53 audit refreshed in Q4 2025. RoboForm also cites an independent third-party audit; Proton Pass answers the question differently by publishing under GPLv3 on GitHub, as Bitwarden does with its public source. For readers who weight verifiability over marketing, Bitwarden and Proton Pass are the two you can actually inspect, while 1Password and NordPass ask you to trust an architecture and an audit respectively.

Proton Pass has the most detailed cryptographic stack described in this group — 256-bit AES-GCM for vault items, bcrypt for account password hashing, Argon2 for offline storage and hardened SRP for authentication — and it pairs that with the broadest 2FA options here, covering TOTP apps, FIDO2/U2F hardware keys and biometric unlock. Dashlane's pitch is more about track record than novelty: zero-knowledge 256-bit AES with Argon2 and no recorded data breaches to date. That's solid, but it isn't a differentiator against Proton Pass or RoboForm, which use comparable primitives for less money.

Features and ecosystem: form filling, aliases, passkeys and the Apple trade-off

Once security is table stakes, the products diverge on what they actually do for you day to day.

RoboForm owns form filling. Its coverage extends beyond logins to cards, addresses and passports, which no other product here is credited with matching — and it does it while being the cheapest paid option. Against that, its desktop app is criticised as unintuitive with limited functionality, and password sharing only works with other RoboForm users, a real limitation next to 1Password, whose link-based sharing implementation is explicitly stronger than NordPass's.

Proton Pass owns email aliases. Being able to deactivate a leaked alias instantly, and to identify exactly who leaked it from the unique address, is a capability nothing else in this comparison offers. NordPass counters with a native passkey vault syncing across iOS, Android, macOS and Windows — though Bitwarden includes unlimited passkeys even on its free tier, and Apple Passwords supports passkeys too.

Apple Passwords is the sharpest trade-off in the group. Its deep system integration — autofill in Safari, native apps and even Wi-Fi and server login dialogs — beats every cross-platform rival here for frictionless everyday use, and there's no account, master password or browser extension to set up. But it's Apple-only, with no Windows or Android support whatsoever, requires iOS 18 or macOS Sequoia, and its feature set is basic beside the premium options. In a mixed-device household it's simply not a candidate; Bitwarden, Proton Pass, RoboForm, Dashlane and 1Password all span Windows, macOS, Linux (Bitwarden, Proton Pass, RoboForm, 1Password), Android and iOS.

On support, RoboForm is the standout: email, live chat and phone with 24/7 availability. Dashlane also offers live chat. 1Password, Proton Pass and NordPass all lack live chat, with 1Password limited to a chatbot, email and documentation — a weak showing for a product with no free tier and the highest single-user annual price here.

Business, teams and regulated industries

For organisations the comparison narrows quickly. Keeper is the specialist: SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001/27017/27018, FedRAMP Authorized, HIPAA, PCI DSS and FIPS 140-3 is far broader certification coverage than anything else here claims, and its Compliance Reports preserve zero-knowledge by decrypting only record title, type and URL locally in the admin console. Filtering by node, user, job title, team, record type and URL, with PDF, JSON and CSV export, is built for genuine access reviews rather than checkbox reporting. If you're in a regulated industry, Keeper is the only product in this round-up designed around that problem.

The costs are opacity and lock-in. Compliance Reports, BreachWatch and Advanced Reporting are separate paid add-ons that inflate the effective per-user cost, there's no published price for the reviewed capability, and it's proprietary cloud-only SaaS with no on-premises option outside FedRAMP/GovCloud. Bitwarden is the direct answer to that last point — self-hosting is available, and its source is public — but Bitwarden gates self-hosting and passwordless SSO behind the $72/user/year Enterprise tier rather than the $48/user/year Teams plan. Priced head to head, Bitwarden Enterprise at $6/user/month is transparent where Keeper is quote-driven; Keeper counters with certifications Bitwarden's summary doesn't claim. Note also Keeper's five-user minimum on Business Starter, which rules it out for very small teams that Bitwarden Teams would happily serve.

Verdict: which one should you actually buy?

Best overall value, and best free plan: Bitwarden. An unlimited free tier with sync across unlimited devices, plus Premium at $19.80/year that still undercuts 1Password's $36 and Proton Pass's $35.88. The January 2026 price rise stings, but it remains the default recommendation for most people.

Best security architecture: 1Password. The Secret Key is the strongest threat model in this comparison, and worth the premium if a server-side breach is your main worry. Only choose it if you're disciplined about key backup — there is no recovery path — and if chatbot-and-email support is acceptable.

Best for privacy: Proton Pass. Free email aliases plus open-source code make it the pick for anyone who wants to limit what each service knows about them. Budget for the paid tier if you need offline access or the built-in authenticator.

Cheapest paid option, and best for form filling: RoboForm. At $0.99/month promotional it's the lowest-cost entry here, and nothing else matches its passport-and-address form filling. Avoid it if you need to share passwords with non-RoboForm users.

Best for regulated industries: Keeper. Buy it for the certification coverage and the zero-knowledge Compliance Reports, and negotiate hard on add-ons, since the effective per-user cost isn't published.

Best if you're all-Apple and want zero effort: Apple Passwords. Free, invisible and deeply integrated — but only if nobody in the household touches Windows or Android.

Worth a look on a two-year deal: NordPass, for XChaCha20 encryption and a recently refreshed Cure53 audit, provided you accept that renewal pricing rises and the free tier is one device.

Hardest to recommend: Dashlane. The security foundation and autofill are fine, but at a price consistently above both 1Password and Bitwarden, with pricing quotes that vary wildly and a free plan that isn't usable long-term, it's the weakest value proposition in this group — reflected in its 3.5 rating, the lowest here.