Best Home Battery Systems Compared: Powerwall 3 vs FranklinWH, Enphase, Sigenergy, Anker, EcoFlow and SolarEdge
We put seven home storage options head to head — Tesla's Powerwall 3, FranklinWH's aPower 2, Enphase's IQ Battery 10C, Sigenergy's SigenStor, Anker's SOLIX X1, EcoFlow's DELTA Pro Ultra kit and SolarEdge's Energy Bank — on power, capacity, efficiency, warranty and lock-in, plus what 2026's incentive changes do to the payback math.
| Product | Rating | Price | Usable capacity | Continuous / peak output | Coupling & chemistry | Scaling ceiling | Standout spec |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tesla Powerwall 3 | 4.2 | Not supplied | 13.5 kWh (100% DoD) | ~11.5 kW AC / 22 kW peak (US); up to 11.04 kW (UK) | Integrated solar inverter; LFP | Not stated | 6 MPPTs per US installer review (3 on UK datasheet) |
| FranklinWH aPower 2 (APR-10K15V2-US) | 4.0 | No verified pricing | 15 kWh AC per unit | 10 kW 240 VAC / 15 kW peak (10s) | AC-coupled; LFP, 90% round trip | 15 units / 225 kWh per aGate | Largest single cabinet here plus generator orchestration |
| Enphase IQ Battery 10C | 4.0 | Not supplied | 10 kWh | 7.08 kW / 14.16 kVA peak (3s) | AC-coupled; cobalt-free LFP | Not stated | 15-year / 6,000-cycle limited warranty |
| Sigenergy SigenStor | 4.0 | Up to £13,500 installed (top-end config) | 5.84–52.6 kWh (1–6 modules) | 11.5 kW system; 3.0/4.6 kW per module | Hybrid inverter; LFP 314 Ah cells | Over 50 kWh usable in one stack | Bi-directional V2X DC EV charging at 12.5 or 25 kW |
| Anker SOLIX X1 | 3.5 | Not supplied | 5–30 kWh per system (5 kWh blocks) | 6 kW continuous (6.6 kW backup, US) | LFP with per-module optimisers | 6 systems / 36 kW / 180 kWh | Finest 5 kWh granularity; mixes old and new modules |
| EcoFlow DELTA Pro Ultra + Smart Home Panel 2 | 3.5 | $5,599 USD | 6 kWh base | 7,200 W continuous, expandable to 21,600 W | 120V/240V split phase; UL 9540 + UL 1973 | 15 units / 90 kWh | Only published price in the group; 20 ms switchover |
| SolarEdge Energy Bank | 4.0 | Not supplied | 9.7 kWh (10 kWh nominal) | 5 kW continuous | DC-coupled; LFP, 94.5% round trip | 3 units / ~30 kWh | Highest round-trip efficiency here at 94.5% |
| 2026 storage economics (25D expiry) | 3.0 | $800–$1,650/kWh installed (~$950 avg) | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | No federal 25D credit for 2026 purchases |
Raw power: Tesla and FranklinWH pull away
If your priority is running a big house — or starting a well pump or a compressor — this is a two-horse race. The Powerwall 3's roughly 11.5 kW AC continuous and 22 kW peak (US figures) is the highest continuous output in the group, and its motor-starting headroom is explicitly called out as a strength. The FranklinWH aPower 2 is the closest rival at 10 kW continuous and 15 kW peak from one cabinet, enough for heavy 240 V loads.
Sigenergy's SigenStor claims 11.5 kW at system level, matching Tesla on paper, but per module it is only 3,000 W (Battery 6.0) or 4,600 W (Battery 10.0), so you need to stack to get there. EcoFlow's DELTA Pro Ultra starts lower at 7,200 W but is the only entry that scales output as high as 21,600 W with three inverters and a 50A Hub — at extra cost. Enphase's IQ Battery 10C sits at 7.08 kW, described in its own review as modest against high-output competitors, and Anker's SOLIX X1 is the weakest single-system performer at 6 kW (6.6 kW backup in the US). The SolarEdge Energy Bank is last on power at 5 kW continuous — half the aPower 2 and well under the Powerwall 3.
Capacity and modularity: Anker and Sigenergy for granularity, FranklinWH for headroom
On capacity per box, the aPower 2's 15 kWh beats the Powerwall 3's 13.5 kWh, the Energy Bank's 9.7 kWh usable and the IQ Battery 10C's 10 kWh. Note that Tesla's 13.5 kWh is quoted at 100% depth of discharge, so usable equals nominal — a cleaner comparison than systems where usable and total diverge, as with Sigenergy's 5.84 kWh usable from 6.02 kWh total.
For growth, FranklinWH has the biggest ceiling on paper: 15 units and 225 kWh behind one aGate, ahead of EcoFlow's 90 kWh across 15 stackable units, Anker's 180 kWh across six paralleled systems, and Sigenergy's 52.6 kWh in a single stack. SolarEdge is the most constrained, topping out at three units and roughly 30 kWh.
Anker wins on granularity: 5 kWh blocks from 5 to 30 kWh, with per-module energy optimisers and the reported ability to mix new and old modules — useful if you expect to expand years later. Sigenergy is nearly as flexible in 5.84/8.76 kWh steps, though its own review flags that usable capacity per module is stated inconsistently across sources, which makes sizing harder than Anker's or Tesla's fixed figures. Against all of them, the Powerwall 3 and IQ Battery 10C are one-size units.
Efficiency and conversion losses: SolarEdge's quiet win
SolarEdge's 94.5% round-trip efficiency is the best number in this comparison, and it comes from the DC-coupled design avoiding an extra conversion step. FranklinWH and Enphase both sit at 90%, and Enphase's review is blunt that the 90% AC figure is the one that matters day to day. Tesla takes a different route to the same goal: rather than quoting a headline efficiency, the Powerwall 3 integrates the solar inverter to cut conversion losses, which is the core architectural advantage it holds over AC-coupled rivals like the aPower 2 and IQ Battery 10C.
The trade-off is severe on flexibility. The Energy Bank needs a SolarEdge Home Hub inverter and is explicitly not a retrofit for other brands, and backup requires an Energy Hub inverter plus a Backup Interface. Enphase is similarly closed — it only works with Enphase microinverters. Tesla's lock-in is less about brands and more about openness and topology: no local monitoring options such as Home Assistant, and no three-phase grid support, which rules it out where SigenStor or the more agnostic AC-coupled options would still fit.
Warranty and long-term confidence: Enphase leads, Anker trails
Enphase takes this category outright with a 15-year, up-to-6,000-cycle limited warranty — the longest term here — backed by cobalt-free LFP and UL 9540A certification. Tesla and SolarEdge both offer 10 years, and both remove the cycle cap: Tesla's is unlimited-cycle, while SolarEdge pairs 10 years and 70% capacity retention with no cycle limit and cells rated beyond 10,000 cycles. For daily tariff-shifting, those no-cycle-limit terms are arguably worth more than a nominally longer term with a ceiling.
FranklinWH is harder to trust on paper, not because the hardware looks weak but because its warranty is described inconsistently — 60 MWh throughput in one place, 10,000+ cycles in another — alongside conflicting maximum operating temperature and ingress-protection claims. Anker is the clearest loser: independent reviewers flagged its warranty terms and total lifetime throughput as below industry standard, and its backup claims conflict (under-20 ms published transfer time versus 0 ms marketing). That inconsistency, shared with EcoFlow's 3.5 rating, is what separates the top and bottom of this group more than any single spec.
Price and value: only EcoFlow shows its hand
Value is the weakest axis of this comparison because most of these systems ship without public pricing. EcoFlow is the exception at $5,599 for the DELTA Pro Ultra Intelligent Kit, and Sigenergy at least gives a ceiling — top-end configurations reach £13,500 installed. Tesla, Enphase, SolarEdge and Anker have no supplied price at all, and FranklinWH's review names the absence of verified pricing as a con in its own right, making its value impossible to assess against the Powerwall 3.
EcoFlow's headline number also comes with caveats its rivals don't share: the Smart Home Panel 2 covers only 12 circuits with no expansion, so it functions as a priority-loads sub-panel rather than the whole-home switchgear implied by Tesla's Backup Gateway 2 or FranklinWH's aGate, and a genuinely whole-home configuration will cost far more than the entry price. It still needs professional installation and permanent changes to how power enters the home, so its portable-kit heritage buys less flexibility than it first appears.
Our 2026 economics analysis supplies the context none of the hardware entries do: installed costs of $800–$1,650 per kWh, around $950/kWh on average and down roughly 47% since 2020. That is the yardstick to hold any of these quotes against. It also sets the warning: the federal 25D credit expired on December 31, 2025, stripping roughly $3,000–$4,500 from a typical 10 kWh install compared with 2025. Whether a Powerwall 3 or an Energy Bank pays back now depends on where you live — California SGIP equity tiers still reach $350–$500/kWh and up to $1,000/kWh for high fire-risk low-income households, and VPP or demand-response enrolment can return $100–$600 a year.
Verdict: which one should you buy?
Best all-rounder, and best for heavy loads: the Tesla Powerwall 3. It has the highest rating in this group at 4.2, the highest continuous output, and the integrated inverter that saves conversion losses its AC-coupled rivals pay. Skip it if you need three-phase or local monitoring — there, SigenStor is the answer.
Best for large, growing homes: the FranklinWH aPower 2. The 15 kWh cabinet, 10 kW continuous output, generator orchestration and a 225 kWh ceiling beat everything else on sheer headroom. Push the installer hard on price and on the contradictory warranty wording before signing.
Best long-term warranty and best for existing Enphase arrays: the IQ Battery 10C. Its 15-year / 6,000-cycle cover and per-microinverter redundancy are unmatched here; accept the 7.08 kW output ceiling and the closed ecosystem.
Best for EV owners and for anyone who wants one box: the Sigenergy SigenStor. The bi-directional V2X DC EV charging at 12.5 or 25 kW is the single most distinctive feature in this comparison, and it is the most complete all-in-one. Plan the siting carefully around 62–78 kg modules.
Best for tariff-shifting efficiency in a SolarEdge home: the Energy Bank, on the strength of 94.5% round-trip efficiency, a no-cycle-limit warranty and 10,000+ cycle cells — provided you already run a SolarEdge Home Hub and can live with 5 kW.
Best incremental buy: the Anker SOLIX X1, thanks to 5 kWh blocks and module mixing — but it is the weakest single-system output here and the warranty concerns make it a value-hunter's pick rather than a safe default. Best for priority-circuit backup on a known budget: the EcoFlow DELTA Pro Ultra kit, the only option with a published price, as long as 12 circuits is genuinely enough. Whichever you choose, read our 2026 economics analysis first: with 25D gone, your state and utility programs now decide the payback, not the badge on the cabinet.






