CGM Showdown 2026: Dexcom, Abbott, Senseonics and Medtronic Compared
Eight continuous glucose monitors, one head-to-head: Dexcom's 15-day G7 and $99 OTC Stelo, Abbott's Lingo, Rio and recalled Libre 3 Plus, Senseonics' year-long implant, and Medtronic's two Simplera sensors. We compare wear time, accuracy, warm-up, alarms and ecosystem lock-in to work out which sensor suits which user.
| Product | Price | Rating | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dexcom G7 15 Day Continuous Glucose Monitoring System | — | 4.0 / 5 | — |
| Abbott FreeStyle Libre 3 Plus Sensor (Recalled Models 78768-01 / 78769-01) | — | 0.5 / 5 | — |
| Senseonics Eversense 365 (European Launch) | — | 3.5 / 5 | — |
| Dexcom Stelo Glucose Biosensor | $99.00 | 3.5 / 5 | — |
| Abbott Lingo Continuous Glucose Biosensor | — | 4.0 / 5 | — |
| Abbott FreeStyle Libre Rio | — | 3.5 / 5 | — |
| Medtronic Simplera Sync CGM | — | 3.5 / 5 | — |
| Medtronic Simplera CGM with InPen Smart Insulin Pen System | — | 3.5 / 5 | — |
| Product | Brand | Rating | Price | Wear time | Accuracy (MARD) | Warm-up | Reading frequency | Access | Standout trait |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dexcom G7 15 Day | Dexcom | 4.0 | Not announced | 15 days + 12h grace (15.5) | 8.0% overall (8.2% per sensor) | 27 min | Every 1 min | Prescription, 18+ | Best published accuracy of the long-wear disposables |
| FreeStyle Libre 3 Plus (recalled lots) | Abbott | 0.5 | Not announced | 15-day sensor | 7.9% (cited) | Not stated | Real-time | Prescription, age 4+ | FDA Class I recall on models 78768-01 / 78769-01 |
| Eversense 365 | Senseonics | 3.5 | Not announced | 365 days (implanted) | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Clinical insertion (CE Mark, Europe) | One sensor per year, weekly calibration |
| Stelo | Dexcom | 3.5 | $99 / 2 sensors (30 days) | 15 days | 8.3% | 30 min | Every 5 min (15-min display updates) | Over the counter | Only product here with a published price |
| Lingo | Abbott | 4.0 | Not announced (cheap 2-week starter kit) | 14 days | ~9-9.3% | 60 min | Every 1 min | Over the counter | Lowest-risk way to try a CGM |
| FreeStyle Libre Rio | Abbott | 3.5 | Not announced | Up to 15 days | Not published | Not published | Not stated | Over the counter, 18+ | Full 40-400 mg/dL range; not yet shipping |
| Simplera Sync | Medtronic | 3.5 | Not announced | 7 days | Not published | 2 hours | Not stated | MiniMed 780G only | Integrates with automated insulin delivery |
| Simplera + InPen | Medtronic | 3.5 | Not announced | 7 days | Not published | 2 hours | Not stated | MiniMed Go ecosystem | CGM paired with half-unit smart pen dosing |
Wear time: a 365-day gulf between first and last
No contest at the top: the Senseonics Eversense 365 runs for a full year on one implanted sensor, twenty-four times longer than the Medtronic Simplera pair at seven days each. Between those extremes sits a tight cluster of 15-day disposables — the Dexcom G7 15 Day (plus a 12-hour grace period, making it nominally the longest-wearing stick-on here), Dexcom's Stelo, Abbott's Libre Rio and the Libre 3 Plus platform — with Abbott's Lingo the shortest of the OTC group at 14 days.
But headline numbers hide the fine print. The G7 15 Day's advantage is undercut by the fact that only 73.9% of sensors actually survive the full term, so in practice it may not out-last a 15-day Stelo or Rio by as much as the spec sheet implies. The Eversense 365's advantage, by contrast, is absolute — no applicators, no adhesive wear, no monthly reorder — but it is the only device in this group that you cannot apply or remove yourself. Medtronic's seven-day sensors are the clear losers on this criterion, and notably trail Medtronic's own MiniMed Instinct sensor at up to 15 days.
Accuracy: Dexcom edges the disposables, half the field says nothing
Of the products that publish a figure, the prescription Abbott Libre 3 Plus platform is cited at 7.9% MARD, narrowly ahead of the Dexcom G7 15 Day's 8.0% (8.2% per sensor). Among the over-the-counter trio, Dexcom's Stelo wins at 8.3% against Abbott Lingo's ~9-9.3% — and Lingo's own review concedes it trails Abbott's prescription sensor. The G7 15 Day also brings the strongest clinical paper trail in this round-up, with 99.9% of readings in Consensus Error Grid zones A and B across more than 20,000 matched pairs.
The caveat is that the gaps are small. An 8.0% versus 8.3% difference between the G7 15 Day and Stelo is unlikely to change a decision at the breakfast table, and the G7's own review notes the improvement over the 10-day G7 is too slim to feel. What should weigh more heavily is silence: Eversense 365, Libre Rio and both Medtronic Simplera sensors arrive with no published accuracy figures in the material we have, which makes them impossible to rank here at all. For a device bought out of pocket, Rio's missing MARD is a bigger problem than Lingo's merely mediocre one.
Safety and alarms: the recall changes everything
Abbott's FreeStyle Libre 3 Plus is the only product in this comparison with an active safety problem, and it is the worst kind: affected sensors (models 78768-01 and 78769-01) can report falsely low glucose, prompting an FDA Class I recall with 860 serious injuries and seven deaths reported as of 7 January 2026. Abbott is supplying free replacements and a serial-number checker, but no rival here requires its owners to verify they aren't holding a dangerous unit. That alone puts it last.
Alarms are the other safety divider. The prescription-grade devices — the G7 15 Day and the Libre 3 Plus platform — are built to be a hypoglycemia safety net; the consumer sensors are emphatically not. Stelo has no urgent low alarms and excludes insulin users, dialysis patients and anyone with problematic hypoglycemia, while Lingo carries no medical alarms and cannot diagnose prediabetes or diabetes. If alarms matter, the OTC trio is off the list regardless of price.
Price and access: only one product will tell you what it costs
Dexcom's Stelo is the sole entry here with a published price — $99 for two sensors covering 30 days — which by default makes it the only product whose value can actually be assessed. Lingo counters with a cheap, non-renewing two-week starter kit that is the lowest-commitment way into CGM in this group, though no ongoing cost is stated. Everything else, from the G7 15 Day to the Eversense 365 to Libre Rio and both Medtronic sensors, launches without pricing, which is a serious omission for Rio in particular since it is bought entirely out of pocket.
On access, the OTC trio (Stelo, Lingo, Rio) beats everything else outright: no prescription, no insurance approval. Rio's problem is that clearance is not availability — it has still not shipped well over a year after its June 2024 FDA clearance, so Stelo and Lingo win by simply existing on shelves. At the other end, Eversense 365 requires a clinical procedure to insert and remove, and the Medtronic sensors require you to already be in Medtronic's system.
Age coverage is worth a line too: the Libre 3 Plus platform is indicated from age 4, while the G7 15 Day's initial approval is 18+ and Libre Rio is adults only — a meaningful point for families, if only the recall weren't hanging over it.
Ecosystem and daily friction: Medtronic's trade-off
Medtronic's two Simplera sensors lose on wear time and on warm-up — two hours, against 27 minutes for the G7 15 Day, 30 for Stelo and 60 for Lingo — but they are the only devices here that do therapy, not just data. Simplera Sync is the one sensor in this round-up that drives an automated insulin delivery system, and the Simplera/InPen pairing is the only setup that logs half-unit pen doses alongside glucose. The price of that is lock-in: Simplera Sync works with the MiniMed 780G and nothing else, MiniMed Go accepts only Simplera and Instinct sensors, and the InPen must stay within a metre of your phone. The OTC sensors, by contrast, work with any compatible phone but steer no insulin at all.
On day-to-day hassle, the all-in-one disposable design of both Simplera sensors — no separate transmitter to charge, no overtape, a sub-10-second two-step insertion — is genuinely tidier than juggling extra hardware, and factory calibration means no routine fingersticks, matching Lingo and beating Eversense 365's once-weekly calibration. That said, Eversense's weekly fingerstick is a far smaller annual burden than 52 sensor changes.
Verdict: which CGM for which user
Best all-round prescription sensor: the Dexcom G7 15 Day. It combines the best documented accuracy of any shipping device here, the fastest warm-up in the group at 27 minutes, minute-by-minute readings and the longest stick-on wear window. Just know that roughly a quarter of sensors won't reach day 15, and the price is still unannounced.
Best over-the-counter buy: Dexcom Stelo. It beats Lingo on accuracy (8.3% vs ~9%) and wear (15 days vs 14), offers more app integrations, and is the only product in this comparison with a price you can actually plan around. Choose Abbott Lingo instead if you want minute-by-minute readings, a 60-minute warm-up is acceptable, and you want the cheapest possible trial run before committing.
Best for escaping sensor changes: Eversense 365, and nothing else comes close — one year per sensor, no adhesive, weekly rather than daily calibration. It is for European users comfortable with a clinical insertion and with buying before accuracy figures or pricing are public.
Best for insulin users: Medtronic Simplera Sync if you're on the MiniMed 780G and want closed-loop automation; Simplera with InPen if you dose by pen and want half-unit dose tracking joined to your glucose data. Both demand you accept seven-day sensors and a two-hour warm-up.
Hold off: FreeStyle Libre Rio — promising range and wear time, but you cannot buy it, price it or check its accuracy. And FreeStyle Libre 3 Plus owners should check serial numbers at FreeStyleCheck.com immediately; with a Class I recall for falsely low readings, it is the one product here we cannot recommend to anyone at present.





